Faculty and Staff

 



Administrative Faculty and Staff

​Indiren Pillay, Department Chair, Professor
Ph.D., Microbiology, University of Tennessee Health Science Center
Research: Microbiology education, phage biology
​203 Herty Hall
(478) 445- 5863
indiren.pillay@gcsu.edu

Judith Sanders, Office Coordinator
201 Herty Hall
(478) 445-0809
judith.sanders@gcsu.edu

​Devonshay Smith, Administrative Assistant
201 Herty Hall
(478) 445-0809
devonshay.smith@gcsu.edu

Brady Bennett, Laboratory Coordinator
M.S., Biology, Georgia College & State University
205 Herty Hall
(478) 445-1331
brady.bennett@gcsu.edu


Department Faculty
 

Dave Bachoon, Professor
Georgia Power Endowed Professor of Environmental Sciences
Ph.D., Microbiology, University of Georgia
Research: Microbial source tracking and water quality
237 Herty Hall
(478) 445-0812
dave.bachoon@gcsu.edu 

Andrei L. Barkovskii, Professor
Ph.D., Microbiology, SSR Supreme Cert. Comm.
Research: Environmental microbiology, molecular trackers, community structure
233 Herty Hall
(478) 445-4246
andrei.barkovskii@gcsu.edu

C. Daniel Burt, Lecturer
PhD., Crop & Soil Sciences, University of Georgia
309 A&S Building
(478) 445-0815
christopher.burt@gcsu.edu

Kwan Christenson, Senior Lecturer
M.D., Khon Kaen University
110 Porter Hall
(478) 445-5861
kwan.christenson@gcsu.edu

Melanie DeVore, Professor
Ph.D., Plant Biology, Ohio State University
Research: Plant systematics, paleobotany
231 Herty Hall
(478) 445-2438
melanie.devore@gcsu.edu


Y. Ellen France, Associate Professor
Ph.D., Cell Biology, Yale University
​Research: Intracellular trafficking, secretory pathways
​211 Herty Hall
(478) 445-1330
ellen.france@gcsu.edu

Michael Gleason, Professor
Ph.D., Biochemistry, Oklahoma State University
Research: Prions, membrane trafficking, molecular systematics
232 Herty Hall
(478) 445-0813
mike.gleason@gcsu.edu

Gregory Glotzbecker, Assistant Professor
Ph.D. Ecology & Evolutionary Biology, Tulane University
Research: Aquatic Biology, Ichthyology
213 Herty Hall
(478) 445-8685
gregory.glotzbecker@gcsu.edu

Ashok Hegde, Professor
William Harvey Endowed Professor for Biomedical Sciences
Ph.D., Cancer Research, Jawaharial Nehru University
Research: Neuroscience, pre-medical mentoring
235 Herty Hall
(478) 445-3464
ashok.hegde@gcsu.edu

Gretchen Ionta, Assistant Professor
Coordinator, Natural History Museum
Ph.D., Botany, University of Florida
Research: Plant systematics, floristics, pollination biology
103 Herty Hall
(478) 445-1332
gretchen.ionta@gcsu.edu

Kasey Karen, Assistant Professor
Biology Program Coordinator
Ph.D., Molecular Genetics and Microbiology, Stony Brook University
Research: Molecular virology, cellular biology
266 Herty Hall
(478) 445-5862
kasey.karen@gcsu.edu

Leeann Kelley, Lecturer
M.S., Biology, Georgia College and State University
108 Porter Hall
(478) 445-8612
leeann.kelley@gcsu.edu

Nathan Lord, Assistant Professor
Ph.D., Biology, University of New Mexico
Research: Entomology, Evolutionary Biology
159 Herty Hall
(478) 445-2440
nathan.lord@gcsu.edu


Kalina Manoylov, Professor
Ph.D., Zoology/Ecology, Evol. Biology/Behavior, Michigan State University
Research: Aquatic Ecology, algal ecology, diatom taxonomy
202 Herty Hall
(478) 445-2439
kalina.manoylov@gcsu.edu

Alfred Mead, Professor
Graduate Coordinator
Ph.D., Geosciences, University of Nebraska
Research: Cenozoic mammalian systematics and paleoecology
106 Herty Hall
(478) 445-1091
al.mead@gcsu.edu

Christine Mutiti, Assistant Professor
Ph.D., Botany, Miami University, OH
Research: Forest Ecology
242-B Herty Hall
(478) 445-5870
christine.mutiti@gcsu.edu

Sam Mutiti, Associate Professor
Ph.D., Geology, Miami University, OH
Research: Environmental Geology, hydrogeology
156 Herty Hall
(478) 445-5858
samuel.mutiti@gcsu.edu

Dennis Parmley, Professor
Ph.D., Zoology, Michigan State University
Research: Paleoherpetology, fossil snakes
105 Herty Hall
(478) 445-0817
dennis.parmley@gcsu.edu

Emily Parrish, Senior Lecturer
M.S., Biology, Georgia College & State University
204 Herty Hall
(478) 445-2469
emily.parrish@gcsu.edu

Lori Robinson, Lecturer
M.S., Biology, Georgia College & State University
109 Porter Hall
(478) 445-1337
lori.robinson@gcsu.edu

Bruce Snyder, Assistant Professor
Ph.D., Ecology, University of Georgia
Research: species invasions of earthworms, millipedes, and other soil fauna
270 Herty Hall
(478) 445-2372
bruce.snyder@gcsu.edu

Katie Stumpf, Assistant Professor
PhD., Biology, Northern Arizona University
Research: Conservation biology, ornithology, animal behavior
269 Herty Hall
(478) 445-0811
katie.stumpf@gcsu.edu


Thomas Toney, Professor
Ph.D., Physiology & Biophysics, University of Illinois
Research: Endocrinology, hormone receptors, endocrine disruptors
234 Herty Hall
(478) 445-0814
tom.toney@gcsu.edu

Allison Rick VandeVoort, Assistant Professor
Environmental Sci. Program Coordinator
Ph.D., Plant and Environmental Science, Clemson University
Research: Soil contaminants, agroecosystems, biochemical cycling
268 Herty Hall
(478) 445-5865
allison.vandevoort@gcsu.edu

David A. Weese, Assistant Professor
Ph.D., Biological Sciences, Auburn University
Research: Population genetics, Molecular ecology, Evolutionary biology
158 Herty Hall
(478) 445-0818
david.weese@gcsu.edu


E.H. Barman, Distinguished Professor Emeritus
Ph.D., Entomology and Limnology, Cornell University
e.barman@gcsu.edu

Bob Chandler, Emeritus Professor
Ph.D., Biology, Ornithology, University of Kansas
bob.chandler@gcsu.edu

Harold Reed, Emeritus Professor
Ph.D., Microbiology, Ohio University
harold.reed@gcsu.edu

Kenneth Saladin, Distinguished Professor Emeritus
Ph.D., Biological Science, Florida State University
ken.saladin@gcsu.edu

William Wall, Distinguished Professor Emeritus
Ph.D., Zoology, University of Massachusetts at Amherst
bill.wall@gcsu.edu

Harriett  Whipple, Emerita Professor
Ph.D. Botany, Clemson University
Harriett.whipple@gcsu.edu

G. William Wolfe, Emeritus Professor
Ph.D., Zoology, University of Tennessee
bill.wolfe@gcsu.edu