Faculty and Staff

 

 



Administrative Faculty and Staff

​Indiren Pillay, Department Chair, Professor
Ph.D., Microbiology, University of Tennessee Health Science Center
Research: Microbiology education, phage biology
​203 Herty Hall
(478) 445- 5863
indiren.pillay@gcsu.edu

Judith Sanders, Office Coordinator
201 Herty Hall
(478) 445-2440
judith.sanders@gcsu.edu

​Devonshay Smith, Administrative Assistant
201 Herty Hall
(478) 445-0809
devonshay.smith@gcsu.edu

Brady Bennett, Laboratory Coordinator
M.S., Biology, Georgia College & State University
205 Herty Hall
(478) 445-1331
brady.bennett@gcsu.edu


Department Faculty
 

Dave Bachoon, Professor
Georgia Power Endowed Professor of Environmental Sciences
Ph.D., Microbiology, University of Georgia
Research: Molecular tracking and quantification of pathogenic bacteria in environmental samples; water quality
237 Herty Hall
(478) 445-0812
dave.bachoon@gcsu.edu 

Andrei L. Barkovskii, Professor
Ph.D., Microbiology, SSR Supreme Cert. Comm.
Research: Antibiotic resistance and virulence in the environment; metagenomics and microbial community structure and function; microbial processes in clays and kaolin
233 Herty Hall
(478) 445-4246
andrei.barkovskii@gcsu.edu

C. Daniel Burt, Lecturer
PhD., Crop & Soil Sciences, University of Georgia
110 Porter Hall
(478) 445-0815
christopher.burt@gcsu.edu

Kwan Christenson, Senior Lecturer
M.D., Khon Kaen University
242-B Herty Hall
(478) 445-5861
kwan.christenson@gcsu.edu

Melanie DeVore, Professor
Ph.D., Plant Biology, Ohio State University
Research: Plant systematics, paleobotany
231 Herty Hall
(478) 445-2438
melanie.devore@gcsu.edu


Y. Ellen France, Associate Professor
Ph.D., Cell Biology, Yale University
​Research: Intracellular trafficking, secretory pathways
​211 Herty Hall
(478) 445-1330
ellen.france@gcsu.edu

Michael Gleason, Professor
Ph.D., Biochemistry, Oklahoma State University
Research: Prions, membrane trafficking, molecular systematics
232 Herty Hall
(478) 445-0813
mike.gleason@gcsu.edu

Gregory Glotzbecker, Assistant Professor
Ph.D. Ecology & Evolutionary Biology, Tulane University
Research: Ichthyology; Invasion biology; Hybridization; Animal behavior; Population genetics; Disturbance ecology
134 Herty Hall
(478) 445-8685
gregory.glotzbecker@gcsu.edu

Ashok Hegde, Professor
William Harvey Endowed Professor for Biomedical Sciences
Ph.D., Cancer Research, Jawaharial Nehru University
Research: Neuroscience, pre-medical mentoring
235 Herty Hall
(478) 445-3464
ashok.hegde@gcsu.edu

Gretchen Ionta, Assistant Professor
Coordinator, Natural History Museum
Ph.D., Botany, University of Florida
Research: Plant systematics, floristics, pollination biology
103 Herty Hall
(478) 445-1332
gretchen.ionta@gcsu.edu

Kasey Karen, Assistant Professor
Biology Program Coordinator
Ph.D., Molecular Genetics and Microbiology, Stony Brook University
Research: Molecular virology and cell biology; virus-host interactions
266 Herty Hall
(478) 445-5862
kasey.karen@gcsu.edu

Leeann Kelley, Lecturer
M.S., Biology, Georgia College and State University
108 Porter Hall
(478) 445-8612
leeann.kelley@gcsu.edu


Kalina Manoylov, Professor
Ph.D., Zoology/Ecology, Evol. Biology/Behavior, Michigan State University
Research: Aquatic Ecology, algal ecology, diatom taxonomy
202 Herty Hall
(478) 445-2439
kalina.manoylov@gcsu.edu

Alfred Mead, Professor
Graduate Coordinator
Ph.D., Geosciences, University of Nebraska
Research: Cenozoic mammalian systematics and paleoecology
106 Herty Hall
(478) 445-1091
al.mead@gcsu.edu

 

Matt Milnes, Assistant Professor
Ph.D., Zoology, University of Florida
Research: Vertebrate physiology; comparative reproductive physiology; endocrine disruption in wildlife.
213 Herty Hall
(478) 445-0817
matthew.milnes@gcsu.edu

Christine Mutiti, Assistant Professor
Ph.D., Botany, Miami University, OH
Research: Forest, wetland, and landscape ecology, and GIS and remote sensing
133 Herty Hall
(478) 445-5870
christine.mutiti@gcsu.edu

Sam Mutiti, Associate Professor
Ph.D., Geology, Miami University, OH
Research: Groundwater & surface water interactions, surface and wetland hydrology, water quality, GIS and remote sensing
156 Herty Hall
(478) 445-5858
samuel.mutiti@gcsu.edu

 

Emily Parrish, Senior Lecturer
M.S., Biology, Georgia College & State University
204 Herty Hall
(478) 445-2469
emily.parrish@gcsu.edu

Lori Robinson, Lecturer
M.S., Biology, Georgia College & State University
109 Porter Hall
(478) 445-1337
lori.robinson@gcsu.edu

Bruce Snyder, Assistant Professor
Ph.D., Ecology, University of Georgia
Research: Soil ecology; species invasions; invertebrate zoology; biodiversity; citizen science; taxonomy of earthworms, millipedes, and other soil macrofauna.
270 Herty Hall
(478) 445-2372
bruce.snyder@gcsu.edu

Katie Stumpf, Assistant Professor
PhD., Biology, Northern Arizona University
Research: Avian population ecology and genetics, conservation biology, animal behavior
269 Herty Hall
(478) 445-0811
katie.stumpf@gcsu.edu


Thomas Toney, Professor
Ph.D., Physiology & Biophysics, University of Illinois
Research: Endocrinology, hormone receptors, endocrine disruptors
234 Herty Hall
(478) 445-0814
tom.toney@gcsu.edu

Allison Rick VandeVoort, Assistant Professor
Environmental Sci. Program Coordinator
Ph.D., Plant and Environmental Science, Clemson University
Research: Soil contaminants, agroecosystems, biochemical cycling
268 Herty Hall
(478) 445-5865
allison.vandevoort@gcsu.edu

David A. Weese, Assistant Professor
Ph.D., Biological Sciences, Auburn University
Research: Molecular ecology and evolutionary biology, population genetics, biodiversity and conservation
158 Herty Hall
(478) 445-0818
david.weese@gcsu.edu


E.H. Barman, Distinguished Professor Emeritus
Ph.D., Entomology and Limnology, Cornell University
e.barman@gcsu.edu

Bob Chandler, Emeritus Professor
Ph.D., Biology, Ornithology, University of Kansas
bob.chandler@gcsu.edu

Dennis Parmley, Emeritus Professor
Ph.D., Zoology, Michigan State University
dennis.parmley@gcsu.edu

 

Harold Reed, Emeritus Professor
Ph.D., Microbiology, Ohio University
harold.reed@gcsu.edu

Kenneth Saladin, Distinguished Professor Emeritus
Ph.D., Biological Science, Florida State University
 

William Wall, Distinguished Professor Emeritus
Ph.D., Zoology, University of Massachusetts at Amherst
 

Harriett  Whipple, Emerita Professor
Ph.D. Botany, Clemson University
Harriett.whipple@gcsu.edu

G. William Wolfe, Emeritus Professor
Ph.D., Zoology, University of Tennessee
bill.wolfe@gcsu.edu