Faculty and Staff

The Department  of Government and Sociology consists of 25 dedicated full-time faculty, part time faculty and staff who pride themselves on promoting a student-centered learning environment in pursuit of intellectual excellence.  As active scholars in their field, our faculty have been recognized with outstanding teaching, research and service awards.  Our programs share a commitment to the highest standards of academic quality and faculty work closely with students as teacher-scholars to advance their goals.  By embracing our liberal arts mission, we strive to create an academic environment that aims to assist the development of life-long and independent learners. 

Administrative Faculty and Staff

 

 
Min Su Kim, Ph.D.
Interim Department Chair
CBX: 018
Phone: 478-445-4562
Location: 2-03 Arts & Sciences Building
Email: min.kim@gcsu.edu







Kim Knight
Department Administrative Assistant
2-03 Arts & Sciences Building
CBX 18
(478) 445-4562
kim.knight@gcsu.edu




]


Kathy Hill
Academic Advisor
200 Lanier Hall
CBX 115
(478) 445-2310
kathy.hill@gcsu.edu






Aleksandra Rudkevich
Graduate Program Assistant
2-03 Arts & Sciences Building
CBX 18
(478) 445-0938
aleksandra.rudkevich@gcsu.edu


 

Department Faculty



Benjamin Clark, Ph.D.
Lecturer of Political Science
2-25 Arts & Sciences Building
CBX 18
benjamin.clark@gcsu.edu
Research Interests

 

  • Political Theory
  • Early American Legal and Political Theory
  • Constitutional Law






Roger Coate, Ph.D.
Professor of Political Science & Public Administration
2-29 Arts & Sciences Building
CBX 18
(478) 445-7396
roger.coate@gcsu.edu
Research Interests
  • International Organization and Global Governance
  • Nonstate Actors and Nonprofit Management
  • U.S. Multilateral Foreign Policy





Carrie Cook, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Criminal Justice
2-11 Arts & Sciences Building
CBX 18
(478) 445-0941
carrie.cook@gcsu.edu
Research Interests
  • Corrections
  • Victimization
  • Fear of Crime
  • Program Evaluation




Kelley Ditzel, Ph.D. 
Assistant Professor of Public Administration
2-10 Arts & Sciences Building
CBX 18
(478) 445-0946
kelley.ditzel@gcsu.edu
Research Interests
  • Education Policy
  • Nonprofit Sector
  • Race and Class in Education
  • Racial Equity
  • Program Evaluation




Sara Buck Doude, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Criminal Justice
Criminal Justice Coordinator
2-21 Arts & Sciences Building
CBX 18
(478) 445-4257
sara.doude@gcsu.edu
Research Interests

 

 

  • Radical Criminological Theory
  • Gender/Racial Biases with Criminal Justice
  • Interpersonal Violence within Marginalized Groups




Hank Edmondson, Ph.D.
Carl Vinson Endowed Chair of Political Science & Public Administration
2-06 Arts & Sciences Building
CBX 18
(478) 445-0943
hank.edmondson@gcsu.edu
Research Interests
  • Politics and Literature
  • Education Philosophy, Education Reform
  • Politics of Spain
  • Leadership






Steven Elliott-Gower, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Political Science
215 Terrell Hall
CBX 29
(478) 445-1467
steve.elliott-gower@gcsu.edu
Research Interests
  • Scholarship of Teaching and Learning
  • Role-playing Simulations
  • Student Development and Global Citizenship




Sandra Godwin, Ph.D.
Sociology Program Coordinator
Associate Professor of Sociology
2-12 Arts & Sciences Building
CBX 18
(478) 445-1900
sandra.godwin@gcsu.edu
Research Interests
  • Identity Formation
  • Social Inequality
  • Civic Engagement in Higher Education 




Jennifer Hammack, J.D.
Associate Professor of Justice Studies
2-19 Arts & Sciences Building
CBX 18
(478) 445-0944
jennifer.hammack@gcsu.edu
Research Interests
  • Criminal Procedure
  • Administrative Law
  • Constitutional Law 




Steven Jones, Ph.D.
Associate Professor & Assistant Director for Faculty Development
Library 3rd floor, Room 375
(478) 445-1253
steven.jones@gcsu.edu
Research Interests
  • Democratization of Latin America
  • International Relations Theory
  • Communitarian Social and Political Theories
  • Civic Development in Higher Education




Brandy Kennedy, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Political Science & Public Administration
Political Science Program Coordinator
2-20 Arts & Sciences Building
CBX 18
(478) 445-7384
brandy.kennedy@gcsu.edu
Research Interests
  • Bureaucratic Role Perception and Representation
  • Political Behavior and Public Opinion




Min Su Kim, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Public Administration
2-03 Arts & Sciences Building
CBX 18
(478) 445-4562
min.kim@gcsu.edu
Research Interests
  • State and Local Government Financial Management
  • Public Finance and Budgeting
  • Policy and Program Evaluation
  • Quantitative Research Methods




Bradley Koch, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Sociology
2-14 Arts & Sciences Building
CBX 18
(478) 445-0937
bradley.koch@gcsu.edu
Research Interests
  • Religion
  • Sexuality
  • Higher Education
  • Teaching and Learning



Keith Lee, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Political Science & Public Administration
2-09 Arts & Sciences Building
CBX 18
(478) 445-0969
keith.lee@gcsu.edu
Research Interests
  • American Political Institutions
  • Public Administration and Policy
  • ​Southern Politics


Alesa Liles, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Criminal Justice
2-13 Arts & Sciences Building
CBX 18
alesa.liles@gcsu.edu
Research Interests
  • Juvenile Justice
  • Race, Gender & Crime
  • Criminal Justice Policy
  • Mental Health




Stephanie McClure, Ph.D.
Professor of Sociology
2-08 Arts & Sciences Building
CBX 18
(478) 445-1211
stephanie.mcclure@gcsu.edu
Research Interests
  • Sociology of Education
  • Race, Class, and Gender
  • College Student Persistence and Retention

Larry Preston, Ph.D.
Lecturer of Political Science and Public Administration
2-10 Arts & Sciences Building
CBX 18
(478) 445-0946
larry.preston@gcsu.edu
Research Interests
  • Culture and Policy
  • Freedom, bureaucracy, and markets



Amanda Reinke, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Anthropology
2-02 Arts & Sciences Building
CBX 18
(478) 445-7394
amanda.reinke@gcsu.edu
Research Interests
  • Conflict
  • Displacement
  • Peacebuilding




Gennady Rudkevich, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Political Science
2-24 Arts & Sciences Building
CBX 18
gennady.rudkevich@gcsu.edu
Research Interests
  • International Conflict
  • Militarization
  • International Relations Theory
  • Central Asian Foreign Policy




Claire Sanders, M.P.A.
Lecturer of Political Science
2-18 Arts & Sciences Building
CBX 18
(478) 445-5328
claire.sanders@gcsu.edu
Research Interests
  • American Government
  • Election Law and Administration
  • State and Local Government



Ji Seun Sohn, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Criminal Justice
2-17 Arts & Sciences Building
CBX 18
(478) 445-0940
jiseun.sohn@gcsu.edu
Research Interests
  • Psychopathy
  • Policing
  • Cross-cultural Studies




Costas Spirou, Ph.D.
Senior Associate Provost
Parks Hall
costas.spirou@gcsu.edu
Research Interests
  • Public Policy and Political Sociology
  • Urban Affairs and Governance
  • Tourism/Sport and Economic Development
  • Mayoral Leadership






Charles Ubah, Ph.D.
Professor of Criminal Justice
2-23 Arts & Sciences Building
CBX 18
(478) 445-7392
charles.ubah@gcsu.edu
Research Interests
  • Penology and Corrections
  • Criminal Justice Policy Studies
  • Comparative Criminal Justice Studies
  • Migrant Populations and Crime
  • Transnational Crime




Eryn Viscarra, Ph.D.
Lecturer of Sociology
2-04 Arts & Sciences Building
CBX 18
478-445-7394
eryn.viscarra@gcsu.edu
Research Interests
  • Gender Ideology
  • Sexual and Reproductive Health
  • Family
  • Emerging Adulthood




Clif Wilkinson, A.B.D.
Senior Lecturer of Political Science & Public Administration
Internship Coordinator
​2-22 Arts & Sciences Building
CBX 18
(478) 445-0958
wc.wilkinson@gcsu.edu
Research Interests
  • Public Management
  • Public Policy and Evaluation
  • E-Government
  • Politics in Film




Veronica Womack, Ph.D.
Professor of Political Science & Public Administration
Smith House
CBX 04
(478) 445-4233
veronica.womack@gcsu.edu
Research Interests
  • Agricultural Policy
  • Southern Black Belt Region
  • Rural African American Sociopolitical Experience
  • Regional Persistent Poverty


Leah Youngblood, M.A.
Lecturer in Sociology
2-27 Arts & Sciences Building
CBX 18
(478) 445-7393
leah.youngblood@gcsu.edu
Research Interests
  • Gender
  • Health Inequalities
  • Sexualities
  • Western Beauty Standards