Faculty and Staff

Administrative Faculty and Staff



Aran MacKinnon
Department Chair, Professor of History

203 Humber-White House
CBX 47
(478) 445-5211
aran.mackinnon@gcsu.edu

Areas of Study: South Africa, World History





Amy Mimes
Office Coordinator

209 Humber-White House
CBX 47
(478) 445-5215
amy.mimes@gcsu.edu

GC Class of '82/'92 - Political Science/Legal Assistance


 


History Faculty

Stephen Auerbach
Professor of History


306 Humber-White House
CBX 47
(478) 445-8276
stephen.auerbach@gcsu.edu

 

Areas of Study: Europe since 1500, French Cultural, Enlightenment



Mark Huddle
Associate Professor of History

202 Humber-White House
CBX 47
(478) 445-4691
mark.huddle@gcsu.edu
Areas of Study: African American History and Popular Culture


Stephanie Opperman
Assistant Professor of History

308 Humber-White House
CBX 47
(478) 445-4692
stephanie.opperman@gcsu.edu

Areas of Study: Latin American, World History



Craig Pascoe
Professor of History

304 Humber-White House
CBX 47
(478) 445-3516
craig.pascoe@gcsu.edu

Areas of Study: Cultural U.S., Urban U.S., U.S. South


https://frontpage.gcsu.edu/article/news/bbq-history-sizzles-georgia-college

 


William J. Risch
Associate Professor of History

102 Humber-White House
CBX 47
(478) 445-2178
william.risch@gcsu.edu

Areas of Study: Modern Europe, Russia and Soviet Union, Central Europe



Samiparna Samanta
Assistant Professor of History

115 Humber-White House
CBX 47
(478) 445-2179
samiparna.samanta@gcsu.edu

Areas of Study: History of Science, Medicine, Environment, Modern South Asia, British Colonialism


 

Jessica Wallace

Assistant Professor of History

107 Humber-White House

(478) 445-8620

jessica.wallace@gcsu.edu

Areas of Study: Early American, Atlantic World, Native American History


 

James H. Welborn, III

Assistant Professor of History

113 Humber-White House

(478) 445-0956

james.welborn@gcsu.edu

Areas of Study: 19th Century America, American South, Civil War, Religion



Robert J. Wilson III
Professor Emeritus of History/University Historian


McIntosh House Clarke Street
(478) 445-3515
bob.wilson@gcsu.edu

Areas of Study: Colonial/Revolutionary U. S., Early Republic, Religion in American History, Local History

*Currently working on the History of Ga College



 

Geography Faculty

 


Chuck Fahrer
Professor of Geography

Beeson Hall 254
CBX 120
(478) 445-3518
chuck.fahrer@gcsu.edu

Areas of Study: Political Geography, Geography of Health, Geography of Middle East and North Africa



Doug Oetter
Professor of Geography

Beeson Hall 253
CBX 120
(478) 445-7379
doug.oetter@gcsu.edu

Areas of Study: Resource Geography, Remote Sensing, Geographic Information Systems, Environmental History



Amy Sumpter
Associate Professor of Geography

 Beeson Hall 256
CBX 120
(478) 445-2035
amy.sumpter@gcsu.edu

Areas of Study: Historical, Cultural, and Ethnic Geography