Faculty and Staff

Each faculty member has a strong commitment to teaching excellence and to creating a learning environment rich in cultural exploration. They not only teach courses in language, literature and culture, but they also share from their own international experiences and areas of expertise. Our students learn to express ideas in a foreign language through speech, writing, and by critically reading a variety of texts. They will acquire an in-depth understanding and appreciation of other cultures.

Administrative Faculty and Staff

Peggy (Schaller) Elliott Ph.D.

Department Chair
Associate Professor of French

Campus Box 046

Phone:478-445-5118

Fax: 478-445-0959

peggy.elliott@gcsu.edu

Research Interest:
  • Early Modern Women Writers
  • French Fairy Tales
  • 18th-Century Pedagogy

Susan Hurst

Administrative Assistant

Campus Box 046

Phone: 478-445-4415

Fax: 478-445-0959

susan.hurst@gcsu.edu

Christine Amezquita

Academic Advisor

Phone: 478-445-2309

christine.amezquita@gcsu.edu

Audrey Redmond

Language Resource Center Coordinator

Campus Box 046

Phone: 478-445-4416

Fax: 478-445-0959

audrey.redmond@gcsu.edu

Department Faculty

Juan Antonio Alcarria

Senior Lecturer of Spanish and Italian

 

Campus Box 046

Phone: 478-445-7382

Fax: 478-445-0959

tony.alcarria@gcsu.edu

Research Interest:
  • Second language acquisition and foreign language pedagogy
  • Computer assisted language learning and teaching/learning languages online
  • Development of language learners’ autonomy

Aurora Castillo-Scott Ed.D.

Associate Professor of Spanish

 

Campus Box 046

Phone: 478-445-0950

Fax: 478-445-0959

aurora.castillo-scott@gcsu.edu

Research Interest:

  • Instructional technologies
  • Second language acquisition
  • Role-playing simulations
  • Project-based learning

Aaron Castroverde Ph. D.

Assistant Professor of Spanish

 

Campus Box 046

Phone: 478-445-8262

Fax: 478-445-0959

aaron.castroverde@gcsu.edu

Research Interest:
  • 19th and 20th Century Peninsular Literature
  • Philippine Literature in Spanish
  • Modernism
  • Marxist and Decolonial Literary Theory

David de Posada Ph. D.

Professor of French and Spanish

 

Campus Box 046

Phone:478-445-4504

Fax: 478-445-0959

david.deposada@gcsu.edu

Research Interest:
  • French Renaissance Poetry
  • US Latino Writers of Caribbean Descent 
  • Diaspora Studies

Hedwig Fraunhofer

Professor of French and German

 

Campus Box 046

Phone: 478-445-5015

Fax: 478-445-0959

hedwig.fraunhofer@gcsu.edu

Research Interest:
  • Theatre
  • Modern literature and philosophy
  • New materialisms and ecocriticism
  • Theories of fascism

 William Daniel Holcombe

Assistant Professor of Spanish

Campus Box 046

Phone: 478-445-0949

Fax: 478-445-0959

 

daniel.holcombe@gcsu.edu

Research Interest:
  • Early Modern Spanish Peninsular Literature
  • Salvador Dalí and Illustrated Editions of Don Quixote
  • Mise-en-page and Quixotic Iconography
  • U.S. Hispanic Studies (Hispanisms)
  • Trans-Atlantic Hispanic Film and Queer Theory

 

 

Tabitha Humphrey

Lecturer of Spanish

Campus Box 046

Phone: 478-445-7381

Fax: 478-445-0959

tabitha.humphrey@gcsu.edu

Research Interest:
  • Women's monastic writings from New Spain
  • Artistic representations of State Terror in Argentina
  • Women's Filmmaking in Latin America
  • Translation Studies
  • Colonialism in Latin America

Marlene McMichael

Senior Lecturer of Spanish

 

Campus Box 046

Phone: 478-445-5117

Fax: 478-445-0959

marlene.mcmichael@gcsu.edu

Research Interest:

  • Applied linguistics: Second Language Acquisition
  • Foreign Language Teaching Methodology
  • Sociolinguistics

Brantley Nicholson Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Spanish

and Latin American Studies

 

Campus Box 046

Phone: 478-445-8263

Fax: 478-445-0959

brantley.nicholson@gcsu.edu

Research Interest:
  • Globalization and Cosmopolitanism in Latin America
  • Theories of Economics and Aesthetics
  • Pan-American and Hemispheric Narrative

Larbi Oukada Ph.D.

Professor of French

 

Campus Box 046

Phone: 478-445-0960

Fax: 478-445-0959

larbi.oukada@gcsu.edu

Research Interest:

  • French Phonology
  • Methods of teaching second languages
  • The notion of curricular responsiveness

 

 

 

Mariana Stoyanova Ph.D

Assistant Professor of Spanish

 

Campus Box 046

Phone: 478-445-5856

Fax: 478-445-0959

mariana.stoyanova@gcsu.edu

Research Interest:
  • Figurative Language Acquisition of Spanish as L2
  • Community-based Projects and Service Learning
  • Spanish Historical Linguistics
  • Semantics and Pragmatics