Biology Department Menu Overview Faculty and Staff Minors Graduate Program Organizations Resources Natural History Museum Greenhouse Other Departments in Arts and Sciences
Majors Biology Environmental Science
spacer

Faculty and Staff Overview

Twenty-three professors form the core of the Department of Biological and Environmental Science. Research interests involve molecular genetics, cell biology, phage biology, environmental microbiology, microbial ecology, virology, immunology, endocrinology, mammalian evolution, herpetology, systematic ornithology, paleontology and entomology. Active learning takes place in laboratories and in the field as well as the classroom. The department also sponsors various student organizations such as Beta Beta Beta (the Biology Honor Society) and the premedical club.
 
Pillay Indiren Indiren Pillay (Department Chair)
Associate Professor
Ph.D., Microbiology, University of Tennessee Health Science Center
Research: Microbiology education, phage biology
Contact: 203 Herty Hall
478-445-5863
indiren.pillay@gcsu.edu
Judith Sanders Judith Sanders
Office Coordinator
Contact: 201 Herty Hall
478-445-0809
judith.sanders@gcsu.edu
Devonshay Smith Devonshay Smith
Administrative Assistant
Contact: 201 Herty Hall
478-445-0809
devonshay.smith@gcsu.edu
Sergio Patitucci Sergio Patitucci
Laboratory Coordinator
MS Biology, Georgia College & State University
Contact: 232 Herty Hall
478-445-1331
sergio.patitucci@gcsu.edu
David Bachoon Dave Bachoon
Professor
Ph.D., Microbiology,University of Georgia
Research: Microbial source tracking and water quality
Contact: 237 Herty Hall
478-445-0812
dave.bachoon@gcsu.edu        webpage
Andrei L. Barkovskii Andrei L. Barkovskii
Professor
Ph.D., Microbiology, USSR Supreme Cert. Comm.
Research: Environmental microbiology, molecular trackers, community structure
Contact: 233 Herty Hall
478-445-4246
andrei.barkovskii@gcsu.edu
Webpage
Robert Chandler Robert Chandler
Professor
Ph.D., Biology, Ornithology,
University of Kansas
Research: Historical biogeography of vertebrates; avian systematics
Contact: 103 Herty Hall
478-445-0811
bob.chandler@gcsu.edu
Kwan Christenson Kwan Christenson, Lecturer
M.D., Khon Kaen University, Thailand
Contact: 242-B Herty Hall
478-445-5861
kwan.christenson@gcsu.edu
Melanie DeVore Melanie DeVore
Professor
Ph.D., Plant Biology, The Ohio State University
Research: Plant systematics, paleobotany
Contact: 231 Herty Hall
478-445-2438
melanie.devore@gcsu.edu
Webpage
Y. Ellen France Y. Ellen France
Associate Professor
Ph.D., Cell Biology, Yale University
Research: Intracellular trafficking, secretory pathways
Contact: 211 Herty Hall
478-445-1330
ellen.france@gcsu.edu

Michael Gleason

Michael Gleason
Professor
Ph.D., Biochemistry,Oklahoma State University
Research: Prions, membrane trafficking, molecular systematics
Contact: 213 Herty Hall
478-445-0813
mike.gleason@gcsu.edu
 

 

Gretchen Ionta
Assistant Professor
Ph.D., Botany, University of Florida
Research: Plant systematics, floristics, pollination biology
Contact: 268 Herty Hall
478-445-1332
gretchen.ionta@gcsu.edu 

Kasey Karen Kasey Karen
Assistant Professor
Ph.D., Molecular Genetics and Microbiology, Stony Brook University
Research: Molecular virology, cellular biology
Contact: 266 Herty Hall
478-445-5862
kasey.karen@gcsu.edu            
Kalina Manoylov Kalina Manoylov
Associate Professor
Ph.D., Zoology/Ecology, Evol. Biology/Behavior,
Michigan State University
Research: Aquatic Ecology, algal ecology, diatom taxonomy
Contact: 202 Herty Hall
478-445-2439
kalina.manoylov@gcsu.edu            webpage

Alfred Mead Alfred Mead
Professor
Ph.D., Geosciences,University of Nebraska
Research: Cenozoic mammalian systematics and paleoecology
Contact: 106 Herty Hall
478-445-1091
al.mead@gcsu.edu
Christine Mutiti Christine Mutiti, Lecturer
Ph.D., Botany, Miami University, OH
Research: Forest Ecology
Contact: 235 Herty Hall
478-445-5870
christine.mutiti@gcsu.edu
Drilling image Sam Mutiti, Associate Professor
Ph.D., Geology, Miami University, OH
Research: Environmental Geology, hydrogeology
Contact: 156 Herty Hall
478-445-5858
samuel.mutiti@gcsu.edu
Dennis Parmley Dennis Parmley
Professor
Ph.D., Zoology,Michigan State University
Research: Paleoherpetology, fossil snakes
Contact: 105 Herty Hall
478-445-0817
dennis.parmley@gcsu.edu
Emily Parrish Emily Parris, Senior lecturer
MS Biology, Georgia College & State University
Contact: 204 Herty Hall
478-445-2469
emily.parrish@gcsu.edu
Lori Robinson Lori Robinson, Lecturer
MS Biology, Georgia College & State University
Contact: 109 Porter
478-445-1337
lori.robinson@gcsu.edu
Kenneth Saladin Kenneth Saladin
Distinguished Professor
Ph.D., Biological Science, Florida State University
Research: Human anatomy and physiology textbook writing
Contact: 236 Herty Hall
478-445-0816
ken.saladin@gcsu.edu

Christopher Skelton Christopher Skelton
Professor
Graduate Coordinator
Ph.D., Ecology and Evolutionary Biology, University of Tennessee
Research: Systematics of freshwater fishes and crayfishes
Contact:164 Herty Hall
478-445-2440
chris.skelton@gcsu.edu
Research Webpage
Thomas Toney Thomas Toney
Professor
Ph.D., Physiology & Biophysics,University of Illinois
Research: Endocrinology, hormone receptors, endocrine disruptors
Contact: 234 Herty Hall
478-445-0814
tom.toney@gcsu.edu
Allison Rick VandeVoort Allison Rick VandeVoort, Assistant Professor
Ph.D., Plant and Environmental Science, Clemson University
Research: Soil contaminants, agroecosystems, biochemical cycling
Contact: 269 Herty Hall
478-445-5865
allison.vandevoort@gcsu.edu
webpage
 WeeseTest David A. Weese,             Assistant Professor
Ph.D., Biological Sciences, Auburn University
Research: Population genetics, Molecular ecology, Evolutionary biology
Contact: 158 Herty Hall
478-445-0818
david.weese@gcsu.edu
G. William Wolfe G. William Wolfe
Professor
Ph.D., Zoology, University of Tennessee
Research: Invertebrate zoology, insect systematics, biodiversity
Contact: 242-B Herty Hall
478-445-3464
bill.wolfe@gcsu.edu       Webpage
Caralyn Zehnder Caralyn Zehnder
Associate Professor
Environmental Science Coordinator,
PhD, Ecology, University of Georgia
Research: Plant insect interactions, population and community ecology
Contact: 270 Herty Hall
478-445-2372
caralyn.zehnder@gcsu.edu
E. H. Barman E. H. Barman
Distinguished Professor Emeritus, Ph.D., Entomology and Limnology,
Cornell University.
Research: Ecology, natural history of aquatic Coleoptera
Contact: Lake Laurel Lab
478-445-4062
e.barman@gcsu.edu
Harold Reed Harold Reed
Professor, Emeritus
Ph.D., Ohio University
Research: Molecular biology of bacteria, interactions with environment
Contact: 205 Herty Hall
478-445-0815
harold.reed@gcsu.edu

William Wall William Wall, Distinguished Professor Emeritus, Ph.D., Zoology, University of Massachusetts at Amherst
Research: Biomechanics, evolution, paleofaunal surveys.
Contact: 158 Herty Hall,
478-445-0818
bill.wall@gcsu.edu

Al with grad students
CONNECTING WHAT MATTERS
A-Z Sitewide Index
About the site
Georgia College • 231 W. Hancock St. • Milledgeville, GA 31061 • 1-800-342-0471 ; 478-445-2774 • admissions@gcsu.edu