College of Education
Overview Introduction to the College of Education Administration Departments & Faculty/Staff Directories Conceptual Framework What's Happening eBlasts and Enewsletters from the COE Educator Preparation Council (EPC) Field-Based Cohort History Archive
Undergraduate Programs Overview GACE Tests Pre-education B.S. Degrees     Early Childhood     Middle Grades     Special Education Study Abroad
Graduate Programs Overview     Writing Assessment     Assistantships     Peace Corp Fellows     GACE Tests Ed.S. Degrees - Overview     Early Childhood     Educational Leadership     Middle Grades     Secondary Education     Special Education M.Ed. Degrees - Overview     Early Childhood      Educational Leadership     Instructional Technology     Library Media     Secondary Education     Special Education     Reading, Literacy, & Language M.A.T. Degrees - Overview     Secondary Education     Special Education Non-Degree Programs - Overview     ESOL Endorsement     Endorsement - Reading     Add-On - Library Media
Certification Overview GC Programs
Scholarships & Loans COE Scholarships HOPE Other
Honors & Awards College of Education Departments Programs Alumni Faculty & Staff Students Awards Ceremony Capstone Showcase
Grants and Partnerships Baldwin County School System Grants Awarded University, K-12, & Community Liaisons
Early College Early College Home
Call me MISTER Call me MISTER home
Dr. John H. Lounsbury Biography Awards In Honor Conversations & Interviews Papers Publications References
Dr. William Heard Kilpatrick Dr. William Heard Kilpatrick
Student Organizations View the list
NCATE/PSC Visit the NCATE/PSC website
GaPSC M. Ed. Instructional Technology Exhibits

2008 Wisniewski Award for Teacher Education
Awarded to the John H. Lounsbury College of Education 

The Wisniewski Award is named for Richard Wisniewski, past president and treasurer of The Society of Professors of Education, past president of AACTE (American Association for Colleges for Teacher Education) and former Dean of the College of Education at the University of Tennessee. The purpose of the award is to recognize an institution that has made "singularly significant contributions to the theory and practice of teacher education." This award is awarded annually.  The John H. Lounsbury College of Education received the Wisniewski Award for for Architects of Change--Creating a Culture of Leadership:
Undergraduate Cohort Teacher Education Program. 

Wisniewski Award Recipients


Ontario Institute for Studies in Education (OISE), University of Toronto, Toronto, Ontario, Canada, 2009.


Architects of Change, The John H. Lounsbury College of Education, Georgia College & State University, Milledgeville, Georgia



Jacob Hiatt Center for Urban Education at Clark University, Worcester, Massachusetts



Institute for Educational Inquiry, Seattle, Washington



Southern Maine Partnership, University of Southern Maine



Urban Teacher Education Program, University of Maryland, Baltimore County



Master in Teaching (MIT) Program, Evergreen State University, Olympia, Washington



Department of Education, Trinity University, San Antonio, Texas



Bank Street College of Education, New York



Collaborative Teacher Education Program for Urban Communities of the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee

History of the Society of Professors of Education

John Dewey (1859-1952) of the University of Chicago, Paul Henry Hanus (1855-1941) of Harvard, and Walter B. Jacobs (1861-1932) of Brown University were founding members of the Society in 1902 as were James Earl Russell (1864-1945) and Frank McMurry (1862-1936) of Teachers College, Columbia University, Charles DeGarmo (1849-1934) of Cornell University, and Michael Vincent O'Shea (1866-1932) of the University of Wisconsin.

William Heard Kilpatrick (1871-1965) was also a member of the organization.

Armstrong, J. A Brief History of the Society Professors of Education. Professing Education. Retrieved July 15, 2009 from

Society of Professors of Education website. SPE Awards. Retrieved Jan. 11, 2010 

A-Z Sitewide Index
About the site
Georgia College • 231 W. Hancock St. • Milledgeville, GA 31061 • 1-800-342-0471 ; Admissions: 478-445-2774 •