Faculty and Staff

Administrative Faculty and Staff

Chavonda Mills
Chair, Chemistry and Physics
Ph.D., Biochemistry, Florida A&M University
301-B Herty Hall
CBX 82
(478) 445-0819
chavonda.mills@gcsu.edu
Research Interests
Medicinal Chemistry/Drug Design
Anti-Cancer Agents
Anti-HIV Agents
Darlene Hubbard
Office Coordinator
302 Herty Hall
CBX 82
(478) 445-8727
darlene.hubbard@gcsu.edu
Kathy Phillips
Administrative Assistant
301 Herty Hall
CBX 82
(478) 445-5769
kathy.phillips@gcsu.edu
Vladislav (Vladi) Manoylov
Chemistry Laboratory Coordinator
340 Herty Hall
CBX 82
(478) 445-5506
vladislav.manoylov@gcsu.edu
http://chemphys.gcsu.edu/~stockroom
Cason Kelley
Instrument Technician
311 Herty Hall
CBX 82
(478) 445-5770
cason.kelley@gcsu.edu

 

Departmental Faculty

Arash Bodaghee
Associate Professor of Physics
Ph.D., Astrophysics, University of Geneva
235 Beeson Hall
CBX 82
(478) 445-4565
arash.bodaghee@gcsu.edu
http://www.bodaghee.com
Research Interests
High-Energy Astrophysics
Black Holes and Neutron Stars
Stellar and Galactic Evolution
Hauke Busch
Associate Professor of Physics
Ph.D., Physics, Old Dominion University
Ph.D., Aerospace Engineering, University of Colorado at Boulder
108 Beeson Hall
CBX 82
(478) 445-5006
hauke.busch@gcsu.edu
Research Interests
Atomic Molecular and Optical Research
Renewable Energy Research
Sustainability Engineering Projects
Physics Education Research
Sharon Careccia
Senior Lecturer of Physics
Ph.D., Physics, Old Dominion University
123 Beeson Hall
CBX 82
(478) 445-2989
sharon.careccia@gcsu.edu
http://chemphys.gcsu.edu/~careccia
Research Interests
Particle Physics
Nuclear Physics
Feline Physics
Donovan Domingue
Professor of Physics
Ph.D., Physics, University of Alabama
232 Beeson Hall
CBX 82
(478) 445-3512
donovan.domingue@gcsu.edu
https://faculty.gcsu.edu/donovan-domingue
Research Interests
Galaxy Interactions
Dust in Galaxies
Star Formation
Ronald Fietkau
Professor of Chemistry
Ph.D., Analytical Chemistry, Kansas State University
316 Herty Hall
CBX 82
(478) 445-5760
ronald.fietkau@gcsu.edu
http://chemphys.gcsu.edu/~fietkau
Research Interests
Analytical Atomic Spectroscopy
Inorganic Analysis
History of Chemistry
Chemical Education
Ralph France III
Professor of Physics
Ph.D., Nuclear Astrophysics, Yale University
107 Beeson Hall
CBX 82
(478) 445-3513
ralph.france@gcsu.edu
http://chemphys.gcsu.edu/~france
Research Interests
Nuclear Astrophysics
Stellar Helium Burning
Solar Neutrino Production
Catrena Lisse
Professor of Chemistry
Ph.D., Georgia Institute of Technology 
349-B Herty Hall
CBX 82
(478) 445-3511
catrena.lisse@gcsu.edu
http://chemphys.gcsu.edu/~lisse
Research Interests
Environmental Analytical Chemistry
Sol-Gel Chemistry
Hasitha Mahabaduge
Assistant Professor of Physics
Ph.D., University of Toledo
124 Beeson Hall
CBX 82
(478) 445-8633
hasitha.mahabaduge@gcsu.edu
Research Interests
Condensed Matter
Photovoltaic Cells
Ken McGill
Professor of Chemistry and Physics
Ph.D., Chemistry, University of Florida
Ph.D., Physics, University of Florida
224 Beeson Hall
CBX 82
(478) 445-5271
ken.mcgill@gcsu.edu
http://chemphys.gcsu.edu/~mcgill
Research Interests
Acoustics
Quantum Molecular Chemistry
Wathsala Medawala
Assistant Professor of Chemistry
Ph.D., Michigan State University
309 Herty Hall
CBX 82
(478) 445-2148
wathsala.medawala@gcsu.edu
Research Interests
Protein-Ligand Binding
Cancer Research
Protein-Metal Interactions
Tara Newar
Lecturer of Chemistry
Ph.D., New Mexico State University
353 Herty Hall
CBX 82
(478) 445-2148
tara.newar@gcsu.edu
Research Interests
Chemical Education
Organic Synthesis
Ronald Okoth
Assistant Professor of Chemistry
Ph.D., Brown University
310 Herty Hall
CBX 82
(478) 445-5208
ronald.okoth@gcsu.edu
Research Interests
Chemical Education
Molecular Recognition
Bio-Relevant Synthetic Polymeric Materials
Michael Pangia
Professor of Physics
Ph.D., Physics, University of Washington
243 Beeson Hall
CBX 82
(478) 445-4287
michael.pangia@gcsu.edu
http://chemphys.gcsu.edu/~pangia
Research Interests
Space Sciences
Linda Rocha
Senior Lecturer of Chemistry
Ph.D., Chemistry, University of South Florida
350 Herty Hall
CBX 82
(478) 445-8294
linda.rocha@gcsu.edu
http://chemphys.gcsu.edu/~rocha
Research Interests
Chemical Education
Environmental Chemistry
Breast Cancer Research
Pheromone Chemistry
Peter Rosado Flores
Assistant Professor of Chemistry
Ph.D., Syracuse University
315 Herty Hall
CBX 82
(478) 445-8609
peter.rosadoflores@gcsu.edu
https://gcsu.academia.edu/PeterRosado
Research Interests
Materials Science
Organometallics
Coordination Chemistry
John Trombley
Lecturer of Chemistry
Ph.D., Miami University
352 Herty Hall
CBX 82
(478) 445-8610
john.trombley@gcsu.edu
Research Interests
Chemistry Education
Laura Whitlock
Lecturer of Physics
Ph.D., University of Florida
242 Beeson Hall
CBX 82
(478) 445-7302
laura.whitlock@gcsu.edu
https://faculty.gcsu.edu/laura-whitlock
Research Interests
Radio Astronomy
X-Ray Astronomy
David Zoetewey
Assistant Professor of Chemistry
Ph.D., University of Colorado at Denver
314 Herty Hall
CBX 82
(478) 445-8703
david.zoetewey@gcsu.edu
Research Interests
Organic Chemistry - Aromatic Halides
Biochemistry - Protein Structure and Function