Faculty and Staff


Chair and Staff
 

 

Photo Unavailable
Matthew Pangborn
Chair and Professor
Ph.D., English Literature, University of Albany, State University of New York
M.F.A., Creative Writing (fiction), Texas State University
3-05 Arts & Sciences Building
478-445-5574
matthew.pangborn@gcsu.edu
Dr. Matthew Pangborn earned his Ph.D. in English Literature from the University of Albany, State University of New York and his M.F.A. in Creative Writing (fiction) from Texas State University.

 

Melinda Martin
Melinda Martin
Administrative Assistant
3-03 Arts & Sciences Building
478-445-4581
melinda.martin@gcsu.edu

 

Laura Caron
Laura Caron
Graduate Administrative Assistant
3-29 Arts & Sciences Building
478-445-3509
laura.caron@gcsu.edu

 

Faculty

Photo Unavailable
Jason Allen
Lecturer
Ph.D., English Literature & Creative Writing, Binghamton University
3-11 Arts & Sciences Building
478-445-3176
jason.allen@gcsu.edu
Dr. Jason Allen earned an M.F.A. in Fiction from Pacific University and a Ph.D. in Literature and Creative Writing from Binghamton University. His work has appeared in Salon, Literary Hub, Passages North, The Strand Magazine, Cream City Review, and many other venues. He has published two volumes of poetry, A Meditation on Fire and Gunmetal Blue. His novel, The East End, was released by Park Row Books/HarperCollins in May 2019, and is currently being developed for a dramatic TV series.

 

Photo Unavailable
Nancy Beasley
Assistant Professor
M.A., English Education, Georgia College & State University
3-14 Arts & Sciences Building
478-445-0518
nancy.beasley@gcsu.edu
Professor Nancy Beasley earned her M.A. in English Education from Georgia College & State University.  She teaches composition, world literature and utopian/dystopian worlds.

 

Alex Blazer
Alex Blazer
Associate Professor
Ph.D, English, The Ohio State University
3-05 Arts & Sciences Building
478-445-5574
alex.blazer@gcsu.edu
alexeblazer.com
Dr. Alex E. Blazer, Coordinator of the Undergraduate Literature Program, specializes in twentieth- and twenty-first century American literature and critical theory.  His publications include I Am Otherwise: The Romance between Poetry and Theory after the Death of the Subject; articles on contemporary American authors Paul Auster, Bret Easton Ellis, and Chuck Palahniuk; and an article on the cult film Donnie Darko.  He teaches modern and contemporary American literature, film, poetry, critical theory survey, focused studies in literary criticism (existentialism and phenomenology, reader-response criticism, Marxist criticism, psychoanalytic film theory), global horror film, and science fiction and philosophy.

 

Joy Bracewell
Joy Bracewell
Director of the Writing Center and Assistant Professor
Ph.D., English, University of Georgia
2-56 Arts & Sciences Building
478-445-8724
joy.bracewell@gcsu.edu
Dr. Joy Bracewell earned her Ph.D. in English from the University of Georgia.  In addition to being the Director of the Writing Center, she teaches composition and first-year composition practices.

 

Beauty Bragg
Beauty Bragg
Professor
Ph.D, English, University of Texas
3-12 Arts & Sciences Building
478-445-8733
beauty.bragg@gcsu.edu
Dr. Beauty Bragg earned her Ph.D. in English at the University of Texas.  She teaches courses on America's diverse cultural heritage, introduction to Black Studies, black women artists, Alice Walker, and the Harlem Renaissance.

 

Photo Unavailable
Molly Brodak
Lecturer
M.F.A., Creative Writing, West Virginia University
3-26 Arts & Sciences Building
478-445-0962
molly.brodak@gcsu.edu
Molly Brodak earned her M.F.A. in Creative Writing at West Virginia University.  She teaches introduction to creative writing, poetry workshop, and teaching creative writing.

 

Craig Callender
Craig Callender
Associate Professor
Ph.D, Linguistics, University of South Carolina
3-17 Arts & Sciences Building
478-445-3178
craig.callender@gcsu.edu
Dr. Craig Callender is a historical linguist and phonologist who works on Germanic languages, including English. He regularly teaches History of the English Language, Medieval English Literature (Middle English), Human Language, Structure of Present-Day English, and World Literature. His research is primarily on the evolution of sound systems in Germanic languages, where he is interested in how comparative dialectology can aid in the reconstruction of historical processes. He also co-directs the European Council Summer Study-Abroad Program in Berlin, and is always happy to discuss study abroad (in Berlin and elsewhere) with interested students.

 

Carolyn Denard
Associate Provost of Student Success and Professor
Ph.D, American Studies, Emory University
203A Lanier Hall
478-445-8584
carolyn.denard@gcsu.edu
Dr. Carolyn Denard earned her Ph.D. in American Studies at Emory University. Her teaching interests include 20th-Century American Fiction, 20-Century African American Literature, Cultural and Feminist Literary Theory, and Toni Morrison.

 

Jennifer Flaherty
Jennifer Flaherty
MA Coordinator and Associate Professor
Ph.D, English, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
3-22 Arts & Sciences Building
478-445-3180
jennifer.flaherty@gcsu.edu
Dr. Jennifer Flaherty received her Ph.D. in Comparative Literature from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. She is an Associate Professor of Shakespeare studies, and her research emphasizes appropriation and global Shakespeare. Her work has been published in journals such as Borrowers and Lenders, Comparative Drama, Interdisciplinary Literary Studies, and Topic. She has also contributed chapters to the volumes The Horse as Cultural Icon and Shakespeare and Millennial Fiction. Dr. Flaherty regularly teaches courses in Renaissance literature, dramatic literature, film studies, adaptation, Milton, and Shakespeare for the Literature program. She also teaches courses for Women's Studies, GC1Y and GC2Y, and the Georgia College Honors Program.

 

Bruce Gentry
Bruce Gentry
Professor
Ph.D, English, University of Texas
3-67 Arts & Sciences Building
478-445-6928
bruce.gentry@gcsu.edu
Dr. Bruce Gentry, Editor of the Flannery O’Connor Review, received GC’s Excellence in Scholarship award in 2013. He is the author of Flannery O'Connor's Religion of the Grotesque, editor of The Cartoons of Flannery O'Connor at Georgia College, and co-editor of the oral history At Home with Flannery O'Connor. Gentry twice served as co-director for NEH Summer Institutes on O'Connor. Gentry has also hosted four O'Connor conferences in Milledgeville. Other publications by Gentry include Conversations with Raymond Carver and articles on Doctorow, Roth, and Carver in Contemporary Literature, South Atlantic Review, The CEA Critic, and South Carolina Review.

 

Julian Knox
Julian Knox
Teaching Fellows Coordinator and Assistant Professor
Ph.D., English, University of California, Los Angeles
3-04 Arts & Sciences Building
478-445-8687
julian.knox@gcsu.edu
Dr. Julian Knox earned his Ph.D. in English from the University of California, Los Angeles. His teaching and research interests include British and World Romanticism, literature and visual culture, Romanticism and popular music, theories and practices of translation, life-writing, and philosophies of time. He has published articles in the journals European Romantic Review, The Wordsworth Circle, The Coleridge Bulletin, Grave Notes, and The New German Review, and has contributed chapters to The Oxford Handbook of Samuel Taylor Coleridge and Transnational England: Home and Abroad, 1780-1860. His latest article, "Ashes Against the Grain: Black Metal and the Grim Rebirth of Romanticism," appears in the collection Rock and Romanticism.

 

Martin Lammon
Martin Lammon
Professor
Ph.D, English, Ohio University
3-19 Arts & Sciences Building
478-445-3508
martin.lammon@gcsu.edu
Dr. Martin Lammon is the author of the poetry collection News from Where I Live (University of Arkansas Press), and his poems have been published in many of the nation’s most distinguished journals, including Gettysburg Review, Ploughshares, The Southern Review, and many more. In 1997, Pulitzer Prize poet W.S. Merwin selected three of Lammon’s poems, published in Nimrod, for a Pablo Neruda Prize. In addition to poetry, Lammon has published essays about living in Costa Rica that have appeared in The Iowa Review, The Chattahoochee Review, and Zone 3. Since 1997, he has held the Fuller E. Callaway endowed Flannery O’Connor Chair in Creative Writing at Georgia College in Milledgeville, where he founded the national literary journal Arts & Letters and also the nationally recognized Master of Fine Arts in Creative Writing graduate program.

 

Jeffrey H. MacLachlan
Jeffrey H. MacLachlan
Lecturer
M.F.A, Fiction, Chatham University
3-09 Arts & Sciences Building
478-445-5571
jeffrey.maclachlan@gcsu.edu
Mr. Jeffrey MacLachlan earned an M.F.A. in Fiction from Chatham University. His work has recently been published in New Ohio Review, Eleven Eleven, and Minetta Review, among others.  He teaches composition, world literature, and war literature.

 

Mary Magoulick
Mary Magoulick
Professor
Ph.D, Folklore, Indiana University
3-21 Arts & Sciences Building
478-445-3177
mary.magoulick@gcsu.edu
faculty.gcsu.edu/custom-website/mary-magoulick/
Dr. Mary Magoulick teaches women’s studies, Native American literature, folklore, myth, and popular culture, all with multicultural focus. She writes on the interrelationships between literature/texts and culture and has published in major folklore and popular culture journals. She is currently engaged in a book project offering a feminist critique of Goddess Culture (especially as it manifests in popular culture – e.g. Wonder Woman). She enjoys traveling (over 30 countries so far) and contemplating cross-cultural connections and culturally-based approaches to studying human artistic expressions. She has done fieldwork with Native Americans, served as a Peace Corps Volunteer in Senegal, studied in France, taught in Sweden, Italy, England, Ireland, for Semester at Sea, and in Croatia, the last on a Fulbright.

 

Kerry Neville
Kerry Neville
MFA Coordinator and Assistant Professor
Ph.D, Creative Writing, University of Houston
3-27 Arts & Sciences Building
478-445-4018
kerry.neville@gcsu.edu
Dr. Kerry B. Neville is Assistant Professor of English in Fiction and Nonfiction Writing.  She is the author of Remember To Forget Me and Necessary Lies.  Her fiction and essays appear in journals, including The Gettysburg Review, Epoch, and Glimmer Train.  She writes for online publications, including The Huffington Post, Dame, The Fix, and The Establishment.  She is the recipient of The Dallas Museum of Art's Fiction Prize and the Texas Institute of Letters Prize for the Short Story.  She is Fiction Editor of Arts & Letters and also is faculty for The University of Limerick/Frank McCourt International Writing program.

 

Laura Newbern
Laura Newbern
Associate Professor
M.F.A, Creative Writing, Warren Wilson College
3-28 Arts & Sciences Building
478-445-0963
laura.newbern@gcsu.edu
Professor Laura Newbern earned an M.F.A. in Creative Writing from Warren Wilson College. She teaches intermediate poetry writing, poetry workshop, and creative writing senior seminar.

 

 

Lauren Pilcher
Lauren Pilcher
Lecturer
Ph.D, Film and Media Studies, University of Florida
3-08 Arts & Sciences Building
478-445-3181
lauren.pilcher@gcsu.edu
www.lpilcher.com

 

Dr. Lauren Pilcher earned their PhD in Film and Media Studies at the University of Florida. Their work focuses on documentary and nontheatrical film and media with an emphasis on social identity and the American South. They teach courses in film and media and composition.

 

Peter Selgin
Peter Selgin
Associate Professor
M.F.A., Creative Writing, New School University
3-26 Arts & Sciences Building
478-445-0963
peter.selgin@gcsu.edu
peterselgin.com
Professor Peter Selgin is the author of Drowning Lessons, winner of the 2007 Flannery O’Connor Award for Short Fiction. He has written a novel, three books on the craft of fiction writing, an essay collection, and several children’s books that he illustrated. His novel, The Water Master, won the Faulkner-Wisdom Prize for the Novel, and his memoir-in-essays, Confessions of a Left-Handed Man, was a finalist for the William Saroyan International Prize. A visual artist as well as a writer, his work has been featured in The New Yorker and other publications. He is the art director of Arts & Letters.

 

Photo Unavailable
Stefanie Sevcik
Lecturer
Ph.D, Comparative Literature, Brown University
3-02 Arts & Sciences Building
478-445-8692
stefanie.sevcik@gcsu.edu
Dr. Stefanie Sevcik earned her Ph.D. in Comparative Literature at Brown University. She teaches African literature, composition, and world literature.

 

Katie Simon
Katie Simon
Associate Professor
Ph.D, English, University of California, Berkeley
3-13 Arts & Sciences Building
478-445-5564
katie.simon@gcsu.edu
Dr. Katie Simon’s work focuses on issues of freedom and captivity in 19th-century American literature. Her book project is entitled "Something Akin to Freedom: Race, Space, and the Body in 19th-Century American Literature." Her work has appeared in ESQ: A Journal of Nineteenth-Century Literature and Culture; Eighteenth-Century Fiction; Women's Studies: An Inter-Disciplinary Journal and in Bad Subjects: Political Education for Everyday Life. She teaches courses such as American Literature to 1865, Critical Approaches to Literature, seminars in Thoreau and Melville, and a freshman seminar entitled Public and Collective Memory. She was awarded Georgia College's Excellence in Teaching Award in 2014.

 

Hali Sofala-Jones
Hali Sofala-Jones
Lecturer
Ph.D., English Literature and Creative Writing, University of Nebraska-Lincoln
3-23 Arts & Sciences Building
478-445-5554
hali.sofala-jones@gcsu.edu
Hali F. Sofala-Jones is a Samoan American teacher and writer. Her debut poetry collection, Afakasi | Half-Caste, is forthcoming from Sundress Publications in December 2018. She holds an MFA in Poetry from the University of Wisconsin, Madison and a Ph.D. in English from the University of Nebraska, Lincoln. Her poems appear in Nimrod International Journal, The Bitter Oleander, CALYX, Blue Mesa Review, The Missouri Review, and elsewhere. She is the recipient of the Vreeland Prize in poetry, two Academy of American Poets prizes, a Pushcart Prize nomination, and several other honors and awards. Sofala-Jones teaches creative writing and literature at GC and serves as an assistant editor in poetry for Arts and Letters.

 

Photo Unavailable
Samantha Sommers
Lecturer
Ph.D, English, University of California, Los Angeles
3-06 Arts & Sciences Building
478-445-5557
samantha.sommers@gcsu.edu
Dr. Samantha Sommers earned her Ph.D. in English at the University of California, Los Angeles. She teaches American literature, writing about literature, and composition.

 

Part-Time Lecturers

 

Tom Caron, thomas.caron@gcsu.edu
Savannah Caldwell, savannah.caldwell@gcsu.edu
Sandy Dimon, sandy.dimon@gcsu.edu
Ruby Holsenbeck, ruby.holsenbeck@gcsu.edu
Bill Richards, bill.richards@gcsu.edu
Seth Tomko, seth.tomko@gcsu.edu
Daniel Wilkinson, daniel.wilkinson@gcsu.edu
Eddie Zipperer, edward.zipperer@gcsu.edu
 

Graduate Assistants

 

Michael "Ross" Cudmore, michael.cudmore@gcsu.edu
Allie Owens, allie.owens@gcsu.edu
 

Teaching Fellows

 

Caleb Bouchard, caleb.bouchard@gcsu.edu
Moriah Bray, moriah.bray@gcsu.edu
Cooper Casale, cooper.casale@gcsu.edu
MaryBeth Cooper, mary.cooper1@gcsu.edu
Corey Cummings, corey.cummings@gcsu.edu
Margaret Delisle, margaret.delisle@gcsu.edu
Nic Green, nicolas.green@gcsu.edu
Danielle Johnson, danielle.johnson@gcsu.edu
Charlotte Lauer, charlotte.lauer@gcsu.edu
William Gerdes-McClain, william.gerdesmcclain@gcsu.edu
Dalton Monk, dalton.monk@gcsu.edu
Jennifer Watkins, jennifer.watkins1@gcsu.edu
 

The office for Part-Time Faculty, Graduate Assistants, and Teaching Fellows is:

1-53 Arts & Sciences Building, CBX 044