Our Faculty

Martin Lammon 

  • Poetry, Creative Nonfiction -  At GC since 1997
  • Ph.D., M.A.
  • Ohio University

Martin Lammon has won awards for both his poetry and creative nonfiction. His collection of poems, News from Where I Live, won the Arkansas Poetry Award, and his poems and essays have appeared in such journals as The Gettysburg Review, Hotel America, The Iowa Review, Ploughshares, Poet Lore, Poets and Writers and The Southern Review. Poems published in Nimrod were awarded a Pablo Neruda Prize. His essays about living in Costa Rica have been published in The Iowa Review , Zone 3 , and The Chattahoochee Review (winner of the Lamar York Prize for Creative Nonfiction). In 1997, he was named the Fuller E. Callaway endowed Flannery O'Connor Chair in Creative Writing. In 2007, he was selected for GC’s Distinguished Professor Award.


Laura Newbern

  • Poetry 
  • MFA Warren Wilson College; M.A. English-Creative Writing, New York University
  •  At GC since 2005

Laura Newbern's collection of poems, Love and the Eye, won the 2010 First Book Award from Kore Press. She’s also received the prestigious Writer's Award from the Rona Jaffe Foundation, which recognizes outstanding emerging women writers. She teaches poetry workshops, poetics, and other courses. Laura is currently the Editor of Arts & Letters. Her poems have been published in such journals as The Atlantic, Poetry, TriQuarterly and other journals. Newbern also expresses her creative interests through black and white photography. 


Peter Selgin

  • Creative Nonfiction, Fiction
  • MFA, The New School
  • At GC since 2012

Peter Selgin latest memoir, The Inventors, (Hawthorn Press) was named a Best Memoir of 2016 by Library Journal. His essay, My New York: A Romance in Eight Parts, was chosen by Paul Theroux for inclusion in Best American Travel Writing, 2014. His memoir, Confessions of a Left-Handed Man: An Artist’s Memoir (University of Iowa Press, 2011), was short-listed for the 2012 William Saroyan International Prize; the title essay was selected for Best American Essays 2006. He is the author of Drowning Lessons (University of Georgia Press, 2008), winner of the 2007 Flannery O’Connor Award for Fiction; Life Goes to the Movies, a novel, two books on the craft of fiction writing, and several children’s books. He has had a dozen notable essay citations in BAE anthologies. His stories and essays have appeared in the Missouri Review, Colorado Review, Boulevard, Glimmer Train, Fourth Genre, Creative Nonfiction, Salon.com, Alaska Quarterly Review, The Sun, and other publications. Other honors include the Missouri Review Editors’ Prize, a Dana Award for the Essay, and a Eugene O’Neill National Playwrights’ Conference Award for his play, A God in the House, based on Dr. Kevorkian and his suicide machine. He teaches fiction, creative nonfiction, journal design, editing, and production, and other courses. He is also creative nonfiction editor of Arts & Letters.


Kerry Neville

  • Fiction, Creative Nonfiction
  • Ph.D., University of Houston
  • At GC since 2016

Kerry Neville received her PhD in Creative Writing from the University of Houston, her BA from Colgate University, and was most recently an Assistant Professor of English at Allegheny College.  She is the author of the short fiction collection, Remember To Forget Me, and of the award-winning short fiction collection, Necessary Lies.  She is also a contributor to The Huffington Post, The Washington Post, and The Fix.  She has twice received the Dallas Museum of Art Prize for Fiction, and has also been awarded The John Guyon Prize in Literary Nonfiction,The Texas Institute of Letters/Kay Cattarulla Prize for the Short Story, and the Short Story Book of the Year Prize from Independent Publisher Magazine. She has been faculty for the FrankMcCourt/University of Limerick Summer Writing School. She is a 2018 Fulbright Scholar and is teaching in the M.A. Creative Writing Program at University of Limerick in Ireland


Jason Allen

  • Fiction, Creative Nonfiction
  • Ph.D. English Literature & Creative Writing, Binghamton University
  • Visiting faculty 2019-2020

Jason Allen earned an MFA in Fiction from Pacific University and a PhD in Literature and Creative Writing from Binghamton University. His work has appeared in Salon, Literary Hub, Passages North, The Strand Magazine, Cream City Review, and many other venues. He has published two volumes of poetry, A Meditation on Fire and Gunmetal Blue. His novel, The East End, was released by Park Row Books/ HarperCollins in May 2019, and is currently being developed for a dramatic TV series.