Visiting Writers Series

Each year, the Creative Writing Program at Georgia College hosts the Visiting Writers Series, in which distinguished authors give public readings and work with students. Previous visitors have included Stephen Dunn, ZZ Packer, Robert Olen Butler, Janet Burroway and many others. 



Craft Talk and Reading

Wednesday, September 26, 2018
Arts & Science Auditorium 7 p.m.

Peter Selgin and Cecilia Woloch


Creative Non Fiction and Poetry Reading

Wednesday, October 17, 2018
Arts & Science Auditorium 7 p.m.

Janisse Ray and Jenny Sadre-Orafi


Poetry and Fiction Reading

Wednesday, November 7, 2018
Arts & Science Auditorium 7 p.m.

Gennarose Nethercott and Tony Grooms



Alumni Publication Reading

Thursday, January 24, 2019
Museum Education Room 7 p.m.

Derick Varn and Hali Sofala-Jones


Fiction and Creative Non Fiction Reading

Tuesday,February 19, 2019
Museum Education Room 7 p.m.

Peter Nichols and Pam Houston



Last Year's Visiting Writers


Cecilia Woloch

Cecilia Woloch is a poet, writer, teacher, and traveler based in Los Angeles but "on the road" across the US and Europe six months each year. 

Peter Selgin

His latest memoir, The Inventors, was named a Best Memoir of 2016 by Library Journal. He teaches at Georgia College.

Kerry Neville

Kerry Neville is the author of the short fiction collection, Remember To Forget Me, and of the award-winning short fiction collection, Necessary Lies.  

Amy Hassinger and Teri Grimm

Amy Hassinger is the author of three novels: Nina: Adolescence (Putnam 2003), The Priest's Madonna (Putnam 2006), and After the Dam (Red Hen Press 2016). 

Teri Grimm is a fourth generation Floridian. Her writing has appeared in Prairie Schooner, Green Mountains Review, The Rumpus, Indiana Review, South Dakota Review, Connecticut Review, Sugar House Review, EAT and Homegrown in Florida.

Richard Garcia

Richard Garcia's publication credits include Ploughshares, The Georgia Review, and the Colorado Review, and among his distinctions are the Pushcart Prize, Best American Poetry, the Georgia Poetry Circuit, and a fellowship from the National Endowment for the Arts 

Other Past Visitors

Past visitors have included such distinguished authors as Robert Bly, Janet Burroway, Robert Olen Butler, Judith Ortiz Cofer, Billy Collins, Peter Ho Davies, Cornelius Eady, Clyde Edgerton, Alice Fulton, Margaret Gibson, Allan Gurganus, Bob Hicok, Maxine Kumin, Frances Mayes, W. S. Merwin, Ethelbert Miller, Antonya Nelson, Marilyn Nelson, ZZ Packer, Charles Simic, Michael Waters, Miller Williams, and many others.