Faculty and Staff Directory

Dr. Nancy Mizelle
Interim Chair
Room 126
478-445-6555
Nancy.Mizelle@gcsu.edu

Degree: EdD, University of Georgia; MEd, Clemson University; BA, Meredith College

Research Interest: Middle Level Education and Teacher Education, Content Area Literacy and Student Motivation, Young Adolescents' Transition from Middle to High School

 

Ms. Diedra Monroe
Administrative Assistant
CBX 71 Georgia College
101 Kilpatrick Education Center
Phone: 478-445-5479 | Fax: 478-445-6695
diedra.monroe@gcsu.edu

Reading, Literacy, and Language Faculty

Dr. Carol Christy
Program Coordinator
Room 138
Phone: 478-445-1154
Carol.Christy@gcsu.edu

Degree: PhD, Ohio State University; MA, Ohio State University; BMus, Capital University

Research Interest: Reading Assessment, Listening and Listening Assessment, Perceptions and Efficacy of Instructional Techniques

Professional Service: Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation Site Visitor, IRB Member, Language and Literacy Coordinator

 

Dr. Theresa Magpuri-Lavell
Professor and Director of the Sandra Dunagan Deal Center for Early Language and Literacy
202 North Clarke Street
Phone: 478-445-8500
galiteracy@gcsu.edu

 

Dr. Linda Bradley
Room 101A
478-445-2525
Linda.Bradley@gcsu.edu

Degree: PhD, University of Alabama; MA, University of Alabama; BS, Birmingham-Southern College

Research Interest: Arts and Literacy, Writing Development, Beliefs and Practices of Effective Literacy Teachers

Professional Service: Reviewer for Literacy, Research and Instruction; IRB Member; President of Gifted and Talented Association of Baldwin County Schools


Foundations of Education Faculty

Dr. Marcie Peck
Program Coordinator
Room 122
478-445-2513
Marcia.Peck@gcsu.edu

Degree: PhD, University of Utah; MEd, University of Utah; BA, University of Utah

Research Interest: TBA

Professional Service: TBA

 

Dr. Jane Hinson
Room 105
478-445-2524
Jane.Hinson@gcsu.edu

Degree: EdD, University of North Carolina Greensboro; MEd, University of North Carolina Greensboro; BA, University of North Carolina Chapel Hill

Research Interest: Philosophy and Educational Theorizing, Teaching and Learning, Aesthestics

Professional Service: Program Evaluation

 

Dr. Yeprem Mehranian
Room 130
478-445-2524
Yeprem.Mehranian@gcsu.edu

Degree: EdD, University of Massachusetts; MS, Bank Street College Of Education, NY; MFA, Cornell University; BFA, Rhode Island School Of Design

Research Interest: Diversity and Equity in Public Schools and Society, Issues of Interdisciplinary and Multimodal Teaching and Learning, The Arts in Teaching and Learning

 

Dr. Paulette Cross
Room 101B
478-445-8628
Paulette.Cross@gcsu.edu

Degree: PhD, University of Utah; MED, University of Utah

Research Interest: TBA

Professional Service: TBA

 

Dr. Jim Berger
Director, Center for Teaching and Learning
Library 3rd floor, Room 375
478-445-2520
Jim.Berger@gcsu.edu

Library Media/Instructional Technology Faculty

Dr. Diane Gregg
Program Coordinator
Room 137
478-445-1505
Diane.Gregg@gcsu.edu

Degree: EdD, University of Missouri-St. Louis; MA, Southeast Missouri State University; BS, Southeast Missouri State University

Research Interest: Children’s and Young Adult Literature, Information Literacy, Intellectual Freedom

Professional Service: Service to Library Media/Instructional Technology Students, Service to the Georgia College community, Service to Practicing Media Specialists and Classroom Teachers

 

Dr. Chris Greer
Room 139
478-445-7367
Chris.Greer@gcsu.edu

Degree: PhD, University of Tennessee; MSEd, University of Memphis; BS, Indiana University

Research Interest: TBA

Professional Service: TBA

 

Dr. Natalie Toomey
Room 141B
478-445-8615
Natalie.Toomey@gcsu.edu

Degree: EdD, Duquesne University; MA, Simpson University; BA, Hiram College

Research Interest: Learner-Computer Interactions, Multimedia Resource Use and Learning Outcomes, Motivation in Knowledge Sharing

Professional Service: Ad Hoc Journal Reviewer for Online Information Review and the Journal of Web Engineering, Student Dissertation Committee Member, Georgia Professional Standards Commission Instructional Technology Task Force Member


Educational Leadership Faculty

Dr. Cheryl Reynolds
Program Coordinator
Room 102
478-445-7364
Cheryl.Reynolds@gcsu.edu

Degree: PhD, Georgia Southern University; MEd, Georgia Southern University; BS, Georgia Southern University

Research Interest: Personalized Learning, Effective Meetings, Learning Environments (Cognia)

Professional Service: Personalized Learning, Effective Meetings, Learning Environments (Cognia)

 

Dr. JW Good
Room 101D
478-445-7363
JW.Good@gcsu.edu

Degree: EdD, University of Virginia; MA in Education, James Madison University; BA, Bridgewater College

Research Interest: Personalized Learning, Effective Meetings, Learning Environments (Cognia)

Professional Service: Personalized Learning, Effective Meetings, Learning Environments (Cognia)


Doctoral Program Coordinator

Dr. Barbara Roquemore
Room 104
478-445-5498
Barbara.Roquemore@gcsu.edu

Degree: EdD, University of Georgia; MEd, Georgia State University; BA, Tift College

Research Interest: Leadership, International Education, Creativity in Instruction, Diversity


Courtesy Adjunct Faculty

Dr. Noris Price
Superintendent, Baldwin County Schools
Noris.Price@baldwin.k12.GA.us

 

Mr. Eric Arena
Superintendent, Putnam County Schools
Eric_Arena@putnam.k12.GA.us