

Meeting Minutes University Curriculum Committee April 28 – 1:00 p.m. Library 241

1. Call to Order- Lyndall Muschell called the meeting to order at 1:00 pm Approval of Amending Agenda - The amended agenda was approved as circulated.

2. Action Items

- Modification to Existing Concentration ARTS Concentration
 - o Elissa Auerbach represented the Department of Art
 - Unanimously approved
- Modification to Existing Major BA Theatre
 - Eric Griffis represented the Department of Theatre & Dance
 - Unanimously approved with modifications
- Modification of Existing Major B.S. in Computer Science
 - Unanimously approved
- Modification of Existing Major B.S. in Finance
 - o J.J. Arias represented the Department of Economics and Finance
 - Unanimously approved
- New Concentration Environmental Justice Concentration in Liberal Studies
 - Sunita Manian represented the Department of Philosophy, Religion, and Liberal Studies
 - o Approved
- New Concentration Aesthetics in the Philosophy Major
 - James Winchester represented the Department of Philosophy, Religion, and Liberal Studies
 - Unanimously approved
- Modification of Existing Certificate Global Foodways
 - Ashleigh Ikemoto represented the Department of History and Geography
 - Unanimously approved

3. Information Items:

College of Arts & Sciences

New Course Proposals

- THEA 4150 Dramaturgy
- THEA 4310 Solo Performance
- PHIL 4435 Surrealism
- DANC 1600 Musical Theatre Dance
- RHET 3051 Argumentation and Debate

- PHIL 4345 Philosophy and Film
- LEAD 4100 Georgia Education Mentorship

Modify Existing Course

- PHYS 4920 Senior Seminar Add PHYS 4999 as a pre-requisite
- CHEM 4920 Senior Seminar Add CHEM 4999 as a pre-requisite

College of Health Sciences

Modify Existing Course

• KINS 4813 Research Methods and Statistics in Health Sciences – Remove all current pre-requisites for the course (MATH 1401 and a grade of C or better in either BIOL 2160 and 2170 or HSCS 2813 and 2823 or ODED 3500)

4. Adjournment at 1:51 pm.

Attending:

Term ending in 2023: Lyndall Muschell (chair) (CoEd), Kris White (CoAS), Laurie Peebles (COAS)

Term ending in 2024: Angel Abney (CoAS), Kaitlyn Newman (CoAS), Sterling Roberts (CoHS), Karl Manrodt (CoB), Jonathan Harwell (Library) (Sally Humphries – COB - Spring 2023 on leave)

Term ending in 2025: Chad Whittle (COAS), Ashleigh Ikemoto (COAS), Alex Berglund (COE)

Ex-Officio: Kay Anderson (Registrar), Cara Smith (SACSCOC liaison), Shannon Gardner (Academic Affairs Administrative Assistant)

Regrets:

Gail Godwin (CoHS), Stephen Rutner (CoBT), Liz Speelman (Senate), Holley Roberts (Associate Provost)