Course Link pop-ups require javascript, but without, links simply open target page as expected

Undergraduate Catalog

Catalog Search

In this section

Catalog links

print page


The University System of Georgia, established in 1931, includes 35 state-sponsored, public institutions located throughout Georgia— 4 research universities, 2 regional universities, 13 state universities, 7 state colleges, and 9 two-year colleges.

A 18-member constitutional Board of Regents—one from each of the state’s 13 Congressional Districts and five from the state-at-large—governs the University System. Board members are appointed by the Governor and are subject to state senate confirmation for seven year terms. The Chairperson, the Vice Chairperson, and other officers of the Board are elected by its membership. The Chancellor, who is not a Board member, is the chief executive officer of the Board and the chief administrative officer of the University System.

The overall programs and services of the University System are offered through three major components: Instruction, Public Service/Continuing Education, and Research.

Board of Regents’ policies for government, management and control of the University System and the Chancellor’s administrative actions provide institutions with a high degree of autonomy. The President is the executive head of each institution and is recommended by the Chancellor and appointed by the Board.

The University System Advisory Council, with 34 committees, fosters continual dialogue on major academic and administrative matters and makes recommendations to the Chancellor, who transmits them to the Board as appropriate. The Council consists of the Chancellor, the Vice Chancellor, and all Presidents as voting members. It includes other officials of institutions as nonvoting members. The Council’s 21 academic and 13 administrative committees are composed of institutional representatives, typically one from each unit, and deal with matters of system-wide application.

Matriculation fees and nonresident tuition fees for students at all institutions are established by the Board of Regents. All students pay matriculation fees, while out-of-state students pay nonresident tuition in addition. Other fees for student services and activities are established by institutions, subject to Board of Regents’ approval. Non-mandatory fees established by institutions are subject to approval of the Board of Regents.

Georgia College & State University • 231 W. Hancock St. • Milledgeville, GA 31061 • 1-800-342-0471 ; (478)445-5004 •