Archives - Strategic Planning

This page contains archived information from the planning process to construct a strategic plan.


Academic Programs Committees
Undergraduate Committee

Focus: undergraduate programs (majors and minors) and General Education (by coordinating with the Liberal Arts Renewal Project).

Tanya Goette, Chair

Brandon Samples

Kristina Dandy

Debbie Greene

Steve Jones

Jamie Addy

Holley Roberts

Cara Smith


Graduate Committee

Focus: graduate programs, enrollment, and delivery (on- and off-campus; online and face-to-face).

Parris Story

Debby MacMillan

Marcia Peck

Jeff Dowdy

Lynn Hanson

Kalina Manoylov

Ben McMillan

Lyndall Muschell

Lisa Griffin

Anthony Boynton, Student Representative

William Fleming, Student Representative

Costas Spirou, Liaison to Graduate Council


Liberal Arts Renewal Project

Focus: (re)define/clarify what public liberal arts means at Georgia College and assist the Undergraduate Committee in the development of distinctive undergraduate initiatives.


International Education Committee

Focus: study abroad and international recruitment.

Liz Havey

Jason Wynn

Peter Rosado

Gennady Rudkevich

Melanie Devore

Sallie Coke

Jehan El-Jourbagy

Mary Magoulick

Academic Support Committees
Library Committee

Focus: Library services in a public liberal arts university that emphasize engagement among faculty, staff, and students.

Joe Mocnik, Chair

Joe Windish

Jenny Harris

Jennifer Price

Evan Leavitt

Jeff Dowdy

Kell Carpenter

Donna Bennett

Matt Roessing

Charlie Weaver

Shaundra Walker

Altimease Lowe, Student Representative


Student Success Committee

Focus: outputs - progression and graduation; define the attributes/characteristics expected of GC graduates.

Carolyn Denard, Chair

Erin Weston

Jeanne Haslam

Nadirah Mayweather

Beauty Bragg

Eric Braun

James Carlisle

Mary Roberts

Kevin Blanch

Ryan Brown

Jeanne Sewell

Joy Godin

Lauren Cryder, Student Representative


Facilities Committee

Focus: physical facilities across the main and satellite campuses of GC.

Mark Duclos, Co-chair

Michael Rickenbaker, Co-chair

Chris Hindman

Ken McGill

Gretchen M. Ionta

Alice Loper

Mike Martino

Deanie Waddell

Lewis Steele


Financial Resources Committee

Focus: budget, auxiliaries, grants and sponsored projects, and campus services.

Susan Allen, Chair

James Payne

Lorraine Neligan

​Kyle Cullars

Alice Loper

Robin Lewis

Cindy Bowen

Wendy Mullen

Akwai Agoons

Charlie Faber, Student Representative


Outreach and Community Engagement Committee

Focus: ENGAGE, GIVE Center, and outreach units (e.g., School of Continuing and Professional Studies and the Science Education Center).

Artis Williamson, Chair

Molly Randolph

Julie Cook

Renee Fontenot

Ruth Eilers

Julia Metzker

Kendall Stiles

Liz Speelman

Simone Bridgeforth, Student Representative


University Advancement Committee

Focus: alumni, scholarships, annual giving, endowment growth, and capital campaign.

Monica Delisa, Chair

Mindy Miller

Elizabeth Hines

Kim Taylor

Matt Davis

Ken Procter

Patricia Hightower

Makayla Hays, Student Representative


Campus Life Committee

Focus: co-curricular programs such as the arts, residence life, Greek life, student life, athletics, and intramurals.

Tom Miles, Chair

Wendell Staton

Bert Rosenberger

Hance Patrick

Neca Kubo

Lori Burns

Liz Speelman

Ally Barys, Student Representative

Hannah Baumgarten, Student Representative

Charles Morgan, Student Representative

Other Committees
Student Quality and University Distinction Committee

Focus: inputs - new admits and GC distinctiveness.

Mike Augustine

Anna Whiteside

John Bowen

Tsu-Ming Chiang

Craig Henry

Kendra Russell

Cynthia Alby

Mike Muller, Student Representative

Ramon Blakley

Kay Anderson


Faculty Committee

Focus: Faculty recruitment, retention, and productivity.

Ashok Hegde, Chair

Barbara Funke

Sunita Manian

Alex Blazer

Ed Stanley

Robert Blumenthal

Wendy Mullen

Chesley Mercado

Kim Cossey


Staff Committee

Focus: Staff recruitment, retention, and productivity.

Ryan Greene, Chair

Patrice Terrell

Javier Francisco

Jamie Defoor

Lindy Ruark

Susan Daniels

Kathy Waers

Jon Meyer

Other Archived Information

Key Points
  • Each committee should address the question:  What would have to happen to make Georgia College the preeminent public liberal arts institution in the future?
  • An overarching projection of the scenario in 10 years (2025) will be provided to the committees. Committees should consider this possible 2025 future while preparing a strategic plan to serve the university from 2016-2020.
  • Committee chairs, as experts in their respective fields, should provide committee members with a seminal article or two on the future of their fields.
  • Each committee will then be responsible for developing more specific future scenarios for their individual areas of responsibility.
  • Each of the three university-wide committees (expectations for student quality and university distinction, faculty, staff) will include OIED representatives to ensure that diversity and inclusion are infused throughout the plan.
  • All goals and objectives must be actionable and realistic.  At the same time, the committees should strive to develop challenging goals to help the university progress toward becoming a preeminent public liberal arts institution.
  • All goals and objectives must be measurable and will be measured on an annual basis.  A dashboard of data will be created and compared with new data obtained each year and at the end of the plan in five years. 
  • The Steering Committee will be an ongoing, standing strategic planning committee that will ensure that the strategic plan is not static and that success in meeting goals is assessed on an annual basis and goals are modified as needed.
  • During the planning process, the Steering Committee will facilitate once-a-month update sessions for the campus community and will utilize electronic communication and surveys of faculty and staff to garner input into the plan.  Update sessions will be available to the campus community via WebEx.
  • Once developed, the strategic plan and annual benchmarks will be available to the campus community on the Institutional Research web pages.
Subcommittee Charges, Report Template, and Reports