Georgia College's Honors Student Association

Eta Sigma Alpha is Georgia College & State University's Honors Student Association. Eta Sigma Alpha organizes numerous service, social and other events and activities. All Honors students are required to join Eta Sigma Alpha and remain in good standing by participating regularly in Honors and Eta Sigma Alpha event. Students are asked to contribute $75 in their first year and $10 per year thereafter, via cash or check payable to Eta Sigma Alpha. These fees may be waived for students receiving federal financial aid and pro-rated for collegiate entry and transfer students. Fees are used to cover the cost of food for Eta Sigma Alpha events and for some events (such as Honors Convocation) jointly sponsored with the John E. Sallstrom Honors College. The fees also underwrite the cost of supplies for the coffee/tea/hot chocolate bar in the student lounge and cover the graduation banquet for graduating seniors, two family members and a faculty guest. 

Eta Sigma Alpha Lapel Pin

Ideally, Honors students should earn FIVE (5) participation points each semester. Honors lunch and dinner seminars are worth 1 participation point; Honors book and film discussions are worth 2 participation points; presentations or performances of creative work are worth 2 points; and presentations at undergraduate research conferences (such as the Georgia Collegiate Honors Council) are worth 3 points. Complete the Honors Points Form to log points.

Students earn a gold, silver, or bronze graduation medallion for averaging 7-10, 4-6, or 1-3 points per academic year, respectively, with appropriate adjustments made for students graduating early or studying abroad. The total number of points earned will be divided by the total number of academic years, with half a year figured as 0.5.

Eta Sigma Alpha events are posted on the Honors College's GC Connect page.

Executive Board, 2024-25
  • President: Kathryn Brook
  • Vice President: Tommy Creekmore
  • Treasurer: Jared Reese
  • Parliamentarian: William Turner
  • Director of New Membership: Chloe Melton
  • Social Chair: Talia Dobkin
  • Creative Chair: Carly Walker
Past Presidents
  • 2023-24, Ryan McGill
  • 2022-23, Bella Angell
  • 2021-22, Jacob Carter
  • 2020-21, Rosalyn Bosarge
  • 2019-20, Julian Lopez Hanson
  • 2018-19, Julian Lopez Hanson
  • 2017-18, Dorianna Dobson
  • 2016-17, Dorianna Dobson
  • 2015-16, Dorianna Dobson
  • 2014-15, Elizabeth Lohrmann
  • 2013-14, Alissa Marchat
  • 2012-13, Sally Gilbreth
  • 2011-12, Olivia Ollinger
  • 2010-11, Brandon Williams
  • 2009-10, Caroline Rentz
  • 2008-09, Justin Reeves
  • 2007-08, Lauren Lundin
  • 2006-07, Lauren Lundin
  • 2005-06, Harold Mock
  • 2004-05, Casey Matthews
  • 2003-04, Harold Mock
  • 2003-03, Amber Knepper
  • 2002-02, Dilanka Seimon
  • 2001-02, Jennifer Colleran
  • 2000-01, Bob Daneke
  • 1999-00, Rochelle Norton
  • 1998-99, Kelly Wallace
  • 1997-98, Amanda Hudgens