Sustainability Council

Sustainability Council Meeting

The Georgia College Sustainability Council was created in 2009 to help identify and promote actions and initiatives that will enhance sustainability on campus. The Council is made up of dedicated students, staff and faculty who work together to assess and develop activities related to sustainability. The council, consisting of four students, three staff and five faculty, reports to the Vice President for Finance and Administration, who also serves on the council in an advisory role. The council holds monthly meetings of the full committee and develops ad-hoc committees, as needed, to address priority areas of concern relating to eight thematic areas and to incorporate additional support for the Green Initiative.

The members of the council for 2023-24 are:

  • Jehan El-Jourbagy, College of Business & Technology, Chair
  • Lorianne Hamilton, Office of Sustainability, Budget Manager
  • Ruth Eilers, Academic Outreach, Recorder
  • Samuel Mutiti, College of Arts & Sciences
  • Hasitha Mahabaduge, College of Arts & Sciences
  • Bruce Snyder, College of Arts & Sciences
  • Mark Causy, College of Arts & Sciences
  • Ama Kpoyizoun, Sustainability Fee Program
  • Amy Newman, Sustainability Fee Program
  • Anna Nguyen, Sustainability Fee Program
  • Joshua Napier, Sustainability Fee Program
  • Cassie Napier, College of Business & Technology
  • Brian English, Parking & Transportation
  • Indiren Pillay, Biological and Environmental Sciences, Ex Officio
  • Holley Roberts, Academic Affairs/The Graduate School, Ex Officio
  • Frank Baugh, Facilities Management, Ex Officio
  • Fina Endere, Finance and Administration, Ex Officio
  • Doug Oetter, Publicist, Ex-Officio

Sustainability Council Official Minutes

For more information about the council's activities, please contact the committee at Join us on social media by following our Web Blog, liking our Facebook Page, following us on Twitter and Instagram!