Faculty and Staff Directory

Dr. Joanne Previts
Chair
CBX 70 Georgia College
Phone: 478-445-4487
Joanne.Previts@gcsu.edu

Degree: PhD, Kent State University; MEd, Cleveland State University; BA, University of Notre Dame

Research Interest: Middle Grades Teacher Education, Inquiry-Oriented Approaches to Teaching and Learning, Video Analysis

 

Ms. Bessie Storey
Administrative Assistant
CBX 72 Georgia College
228 Kilpatrick Education Center
Phone: (478)-445-4577 | Fax: (478)-445-0692
Bessie.Storey@gcsu.edu

Pre-education Faculty

Mrs. Claire Garrett
Program Coordinator
Room 220D
478-445-6205
Claire.Garrett@gcsu.edu

 


Early Childhood Faculty

Dr. Olha Osobov
Program Co-Coordinator
Room 228D
478-445-5718
Olha.Tsarykovska@gcsu.edu

Degree: PhD, Purdue University; MEd, Purdue University; BA, Kirovograd State Pedagogical University

Research Interest: English Language, Multicultural Education, Multicultural Literature

 

Dr. Stacy Schwartz
Program Co-Coordinator
Room 228F
478-445-6204
Stacy.Schwartz@gcsu.edu

Degree: PhD, University of Georgia; MEd, University of Georgia; BSEd, University of Georgia

Research Interest: Professional Development Schools Partnerships, Family-Schools Community Partnerships, Wellness in Teacher Preparation

Professional Service: Vice President, Georgia Association for the Education of Young Children; Board President, Montessori of Macon; Member, School Governance Team at Lakeview Academy

 

Dr. Lyndall Muschell
Room 228E
478-445-1909
Lyndall.Muschell@gcsu.edu

Degree: EdD, Georgia Southern University; EdS, Georgia College & State University; MEd, Georgia College & State University; BS, Georgia College & State University

Research Interest: Narrative Imagination, Teacher Education, Diversity

Professional Service: Chair, University Curriculum Committee; Executive Committee, University Senate; Chair, Tenure and Promotion Committee (College of Education)

 

Mrs. Estelle Jacobs
Room 228C
478-445-2519
Eva.Jacobs@gcsu.edu

Degree: MEd, Georgia College; EdS, Georgia College & State University; BS, Georgia College & State University

Research Interest: TBA

 

Mrs. Carla Hutchings
Room 228G
478-445-3311
Carla.Hutchings@gcsu.edu

Degree: EdS, Georgia College and State University; MEd, Georgia College and State University; BS, Georgia College and State University

Research Interest: TBA

 

Holley Roberts
Dr. Holley Roberts
Interim Associate Provost for Academic Affairs and Director of The Graduate School
Parks 307G
478-445-4715
Holley.Roberts@gcsu.edu

Degree: TBA

Research Interest: TBA

 


Middle Grades Faculty

Dr. Miriam Jordan
Program Coordinator
Room 217C
478-445-1812
Miriam.Jordan@gcsu.edu

Degree: EdD, University of Georgia; MEd, Georgia College & State University; BA, Wesleyan College

Research Interest: TBA

Professional Service: TBA

 

Dr. Nancy Mizelle
Room 126
478-445-6555
Nancy.Mizelle@gcsu.edu

Degree: EdD, University of Georgia; MEd, Clemson University; BA, Meredith College

Research Interest: Middle Level Education and Teacher Education, Content Area Literacy and Student Motivation, Young Adolescents' Transition from Middle to High School

 

Rachel Bray
Dr. Rachel Bray
Room 133
478-445-4549
Rachel.Bray@gcsu.edu

Degree: PhD, Mercer University; MEd, Troy University; BA, University of Georgia

Research Interest: Novice Teachers, Title I Schools, Socio-Pedagogy

 

Dr. Karynne Kleine
Room 126
478-445-3225
Karynne.Kleine@gcsu.edu

Degree: TBA

Research Interest: TBA

 


Secondary Education Faculty

Dr. Rui Kang
Program Coordinator
Room 217D
478-445-0512
Rui.Kang@gcsu.edu
http://faculty.gcsu.edu/rui-kang

Degree: PhD, Texas A&M University; MEd, University of Georgia; MS, Texas A&M

Research Interest: Math and Science Education; Teacher Knowledge, Preparation and Professional Development; Cognition and Thinking

 

Dr. Cynthia Alby
GC Journeys
GC Journeys Website
Room 106
478-445-2358
Cynthia.Alby@gcsu.edu

Degree: PhD, University of Georgia; MA, University of Cincinnati; BA, Xavier University

Research Interest: Applied Positive Psychology in Education, Course Design for Transformative Learning, Culturally Responsive Teaching

Professional Service: Consulting on High Impact Practices in Higher Education, Workshops on Developing Psychological Fitness in Students and Faculty, Workshops on Course Design

 

Dr. Suzanna Roman
Room 128
478-445-6171
Suzanna.Roman@gcsu.edu

Degree: TBA

Research Interest: TBA

 

Dr. Dionne Lazenby
Dionne.Lazenby@gcsu.edu

Degree: PhD, Auburn University; MEd, Auburn University; BA, The University of Alabama

Research Interest: Diversity and Social Justice Education; Critical Race and Gender Theories in Education; Pre-service Teacher Ideologies and Practices

 


Special Education Faculty

Dr. Stephen Wills
Program Co-Coordinator
Room 228A
478-445-4481
Stephen.Wills@gcsu.edu

Degree: PhD, University of Alabama; MEd, Georgia College & State University; BS, Auburn University

Research Interest: TBA

Professional Service: TBA

 

Dr. Rob Sumowski
Program Co-Coordinator
Room 217B
478-445-2127
Rob.Sumowski@gcsu.edu

Degree: EdD, University of Georgia; EdS, Georgia College & State University; MEd, Georgia College & State University; BA, Mercer University

Research Interest: Positive Behavior Interventions and Supports, Professional Development School Partnerships, School Law and Investigations

 

Dr. Roddran Grimes
Room 228L
478-445-5996
Roddran.Grimes@gcsu.edu

Degree: PhD, Indiana State University; Special Education Certification Courses, Clark Atlanta University; MS, Mercer University; BS, Indiana State University

Research Interest: Positive Behavior Interventions and Supports, Male Underachievement, Teacher Effectiveness

 

Sandra Smith
Dr. Sandra Smith
Room 141A
478-445-1721
Sandra.Smith@gcsu.edu

Degree: TBA

Research Interest: TBA

Professional Service: TBA

 

Ms. Mary Hiller Crook
Ms. Mary Hiller Crook
Room 228K
478-445-5998
Mary.Crook@gcsu.edu

Degree: TBA

Research Interest: TBA

Professional Service: TBA

 

Dr. Kim Muschaweck
Room 228I
478-445-5404
Kim.Muschaweck@gcsu.edu

Degree: PhD, Texas A&M University; MA, University of St. Thomas; BA, Salem College

Research Interest: Instructional coaching methods that positively impact the implementation of research based instructional practices; Call to vocation’s impact on teacher retention; Teacher knowledge and beliefs about pedagogical principles and the impact on the provision of differentiated instruction.

 

Dr. Nicole DeClouette
Associate Dean
CBX 70 Georgia College
478-445-2126
Nicole.DeClouette@gcsu.edu

Degree: PhD, Syracuse University; BA, University of California, Berkeley

Research Interest: Cross-Cultural Constructions of Disability, International Inclusive Education, Collaboration and Co-teaching

 


Partnerships and Field Placements

Mrs. Claire Garrett
Partnerships and Field Placements
Room 220D
478-445-6205
Claire.Garrett@gcsu.edu